Well, that happened.

So I’ve been away from things lately. You know how it is when you bang your head on a wall, trying to gain perspective? Of course you do!

Anyway. I’ve took a mini-vacation awhile back to review my work, where it was going and how I could possibly get it all together into a coherent less-mess. I shelved a couple of projects (The Gray and Seraphim) and lagged on getting Dead Winter in front of agents.

Blah.

What I’m unsuccessfully trying to say is I’ve finally gone back to work. After the mini-vacation, I started a new project. It’s something I’ve been dying to write for a long time and just said, “Screw it. I’m doing it.”

Thank you, thank you. Please hold your applause until the end. The new project, which I’m well on my way to finishing, is called Legacy. It will be a Young Adult, sci-fi series about a group of people with odd powers and the weird things they do with them. The first book, Awakening, is almost complete and features the core characters for the series coming to grips with their abilities, while trying to stop one of their own from destroying all life on earth.

I was originally going to use this blog as a “what I did and thought while writing” sort of thing, but since I’m pretty far along, I figured I’d just start by letting everyone know it was out there. You can see most of the first draft here. Just go to my portfolio on the page and Awakening will be on the top.

For now, I’m going to keep this blog as an update of sorts. Awakening has a variety of characters in it and kind of breaks the “main character” archetype because it has several characters to really look at. My hope was that everyone would be able to identify with one character or another and read through it to see what happens to their character. It sounds odd, but you have to read it to see what I’m talking about. I felt this might be an interesting way to go because it’s a format you don’t see all that often. Mostly, you get a book and center in on one character and follow his or her story. I really wanted to see what would happen if I challenged that.

Don’t get me wrong, I know it’s been done before, I’m not Lewis and Clark or anything, but I’ve never done it.

If this sounds at all interesting, check it out. You can go here and click on the Portfolio tab. If you want to know more, Twitter me. You can do that from the widget on the right. See? Right there. Yup! Or leave me a message, smoke signal, Morse code or carrier pigeon. Well … maybe not carrier pigeon. That would just be wrong.

Anyway. That’s the bare bones and I’ll be getting back to you more on my bizarre writing experiences or muses.

Later,
-T.J.

Leave a Reply

